#23research – Thing 9: Research Profiles

As a professional staff member and new researcher, I was excited to see Thing 9 Research Profiles.  One of the first things I did when I started at work was update my research outputs to appear on my staff profile.  I was familiar with the research outputs software from previous employment so it was fairly easy to add in publications and conference presentations.

researchoutputs

ORCID

ORCID provides a researcher with a unique identifier that can be used to distinguish one researcher from another.  This is particularly useful if you have a common name eg: John Smith.  Within my workplace, your ORCID identifier can be linked to your research outputs and it then appears within your staff profile (see right):

researchoutputs2

GOOGLE SCHOLAR CITATIONS

I created a Google Scholar citations profile when my Masters research project became available in Victoria University’s Research Archive and linked it through.

researchoutputs3Our team talked briefly about the Thomson Reuters ResearcherID today and this is something I will look into further as part of my role in supporting the library’s BiblioInformatics Service.

Share a thought or pātai mai :)

