5/30 – Here a MOOC, there a MOOC

Day 5 of #blogjune and it feels like I’ve stalled already.  What on earth am I going to blog about today?  In hindsight, I should have noted down all of the ideas I had on Monday afternoon for moments just like this.

Anyhoo, I think I’ll go with the main thing I’ve been doing today – looking at MOOCs.  I received a notification recently from SJSU about an upcoming MOOC called ‘Emerging Future: Technology Issues and Trends’.  I checked it out and it looked pretty good actually. When I looked at the enrolment process this morning, the course was full.  Having checked it again this afternoon, SJSU have added an additional 250 spots so if you’re interested, then please do register. The MOOC is hosted on the Canvas network and you can see other MOOCs on offer here.

A few other MOOCs have passed via my Twitter feed today and I thought I would mention them in this post too:

An introduction to innovative approaches to learning and teaching, with a focus on the use of e-learning and social web technologies.

Higher education professionals, new PhD graduates, newly hired university educators and research scientists, and others interested in enhancing their teaching techniques in a university setting will acquire in this six-week course the foundational knowledge of the science of teaching and learning and develop skills and strategies for teaching at the university level.

Based upon the successful educational resources of the same name, the Learning to Teach Online (LTTO) MOOC is designed to help existing educators establish or improve their own online or blended teaching practices. The target audience is primarily teachers in higher education, K-12, community college, and vocational or private education.

The first course offers hands-on introduction to statistical data analysis that emphasises fundamental concepts and practical skills.  The second course explores academic integrity and how you can demonstrate it in your work, study and research at university.

 

2 thoughts on “5/30 – Here a MOOC, there a MOOC

  1. I knew the emerging futures mooc would be popular! I’m happy to get a spot after missing out on the hyperlinked library mooc they did.

Share a thought or pātai mai :)

