3/30 – Infographics and Te Reo Māori

I find I am constantly looking for ways to improve my recall when learning Te Reo Māori.  One of the more challenging aspects of the language is remembering ‘who is who’ when it comes to using personal pronouns.  The other day I stumbled across a short article about creating instructographics and thought I would try it out. I went with the Piktochart option and it was extremely easy to use.

Here’s my take on understanding personal pronouns:

Pronouns_infographic

I’ll use the example from my recount to explain some of the terms:

I tērā wiki, i haere māua ko Aroha ki te whakataetae Kapa Haka ko Tangata Rau i te Regent Theatre. I taua wā, i tae tōmuri māua, ā, i tū mātou Ko Hēmi kei runga i ngā kaupae. Nō reira, kāore mātou i kite i te waiata tuatahi mā Te Tū Mataora engari he pai tonu tērā hui taurima.  Ko Te Rōpū Haka o Kairanga i te rōpū te pai ki a au.

… i haere māua ko Aroha …

During my assessment, I was the speaker (au) and the assessor was the listener (koe).  In referring to Aroha (ia) and I (to the listener), the correct term to use was ‘māua’. (au + ia = māua)

… i tū mātou Ko Hēmi …

Again, I was the speaker (au) and the assessor was the listener (koe).  In referring to Aroha (ia), Hēmi (ia) and myself (to the listener), the correct term to use was ‘mātou’. (au + rāua = mātou)

If I had referred to myself as speaker (au) and the assessor as listener (koe) both eating chocolates from the bag, the term I would use to describe that action would be ‘tāua’. (au + koe = tāua)

Now I just need to visualise that example when it comes time for the exam 🙂

 

Share a thought or pātai mai :)

