Stretch Your Mind

I am always learning. 

One of the people I follow on Twitter is DK.  My first encounter with him was at the LIANZA12 Conference in Palmerston North.  DK gave a keynote address on ‘Libraries as Interfaces: Extending the Possibilities‘ and held a MasterClass in Social Media.  He is an incredibly engaging speaker and has a funny accent.  And boy, does he knows his stuff.  It was here that I first learned of Animoto, Issuu and SlideShare; tools I plan to re-discover in coming months.

LIANZA12

On occassion, DK will send out a tweet offering free advice in a social media clinic via Twitter.  Usually it is open and any topic/aspect/problem to do with social media can be discussed.  Tonight’s social media clinic had a theme: Social media as a research tool.  Based on a recent workshop, social media and academia are hot topics, and I was surprised there weren’t more questions asked.  Here’s a snippet of our kōrero:

Here is the question I asked:

DK1

Here is the whakaaro I was given to ponder by the end of our kōrero:

DK2

I went in with the mindset of social media as a dissemination tool but learned it can be so much more than that.

Discover. Engage. Promote. Curate. Collaborate. Locally. Nationally. Globally.

If you’re interested, the link DK gave me is here: Imagine if … | Social Media Was Not Just Used As A Marketing Tool.

 

 

