#Follow your passion

So how do you know when you’ve found that thing that motivates you with a ‘come-at-me-I’m-ready’ kind of passion.  That thing that tells you you’re on the right track or you’re making the right choice? That thing that motivates you to want to try something new or different, to take risks or to challenge yourself?

I am, usually, a pretty quiet person. I think about a lot of stuff constantly but don’t talk much.  When I get excited about something, I talk.  A lot.  Tāne tells me I become very animated on topics I am passionate about. My trigger is often an earlier (childhood) memory, something that had a profound impact on me in some way, good or bad.  The memory becomes a whakaaro that I will ponder over, sometimes for years.  When it gains enough momentum, it is expressed in kōrero and actions. I have found that the more impatient I become about wanting to express my kōrero or actions, the more intense or passionate I become about the topic/object/thing.  For me, that is the indicator that tells me I am on track.  That I am making the right choice and I am prepared to take the risk to follow it through.

I failed computers at high school.  The only ‘D’ on any of my school reports.  Ever.  I was gutted.  I consider this to be my technology trigger and it was probably this very whakaaro that motivated me to complete an undergraduate degree in IT.  I also found during my studies I had a competitive side, particularly when it came to vying for the student awards offered in each year.  This turned out to be a good thing for me; being competitive was the ongoing sustenance I needed to complete the degree within 3 years as a full-time student while being a Mum to an 18 month old.  My motivation to continue learning about technology now is sustained by baby girl and her core school stationery item; an iPad.  This is her second year of using one (she’s at Intermediate) and learning is very participatory and very mobile.

You can learn a lot about yourself when you reflect on your previous experiences and successes. Do you know what motivates you to follow your passion?

Share a thought or pātai mai :)

